LAGOS 2nd CFP, DEADLINE EXTENSION and financial support information.

LAGOS'13 - VII Latin-American Algorithms, Graphs and Optimization Symposium

Playa del Carmen, Mexico April 22-26, 2013

http://xamanek.izt.uam.mx/LAGOS2013/ lagos2013@xamanek.izt.uam.mx

-- About the conference

LAGOS (the Latin-American Algorithms, Graphs, and Optimization Symposium), is the merging of two Latin-American Conferences on these subjects: GRACO (Brazilian Symposium on Graphs, Algorithms, and Combinatorics) and LACGA (Latin-American Conference on Combinatorics, Graphs, and Applications). The previous editions were held in Fortaleza, Brazil (<u>GRACO 2001</u>), Santiago, Chile (<u>LAGCA 2004</u>), Angra dos Reis, Brazil (<u>GRACO 2005</u>), Puerto Varas, Chile (<u>LAGOS 2007</u>), Gramado, Brazil (<u>LAGOS 2009</u>), and Bariloche, Argentina (<u>LAGOS 2011</u>).

-- Important dates

New submissions deadline: October 31, 2012 New notification of acceptance/rejection: January 14, 2013 Conference dates: April 22-26, 2013

-- Conference themes

Themes include, but are not limited to, the following AMS classifications:

Algorithms: analysis of algorithms; approximation algorithms; randomized algorithms; computational geometry.

Operations Research and Mathematical Programming: combinatorial optimization; integer programming; polyhedral combinatorics; operations research and management science.

Graph Theory: cliques, dominating and independent sets; coloring of graphs and hypergraphs; covering and packing, factorization, matching; digraphs, tournaments; graph algorithms; graphs and matrices; hypergraphs; perfect graphs; random graphs; structural characterization of types of graphs.

Applications: mathematical programming, combinatorial optimization, continuous optimization, heuristics, and metaheuristics, applied to real-world problems.

-- LAGOS Steering Committee

Thomas Liebling (EPFL, Switzerland) Jayme Szwarcfiter (UFRJ, Brazil)

-- Invited speakers

Oswin Aichholzer (Technische Universität Graz, Austria) József Balogh (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) Flavia Bonomo (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina) Silvia Fernández-Merchant (California State University at Northridge, USA) Ferran Hurtado (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain) Brendan D. McKay (Australian National University, Australia) Luis Montejano (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico) Jorge Urrutia (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico) Yoshiko Wakabayashi (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil) Doron Zeilberger (Rutgers University, USA)

-- Instructions for Submissions

Extended abstracts. Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract in English (up to 6 pages), containing original research results. The authors are fully responsible of convincing the referees of the correctness and interest of their results using only those six pages. Authors can add an optional appendix with proofs, sketches of proofs, or additional material. If included, the appendix will be read at the discretion of the Scientific Committee and it is expected that it will only be used to reach a decision for very unusual cases. The appendix has no page limit, and since it will not be published, it cannot be referenced in the extended abstract. Submission of a paper implies that the work described has not been previously published (except in the form of a short abstract or as part of a lecture or academic thesis), that it is not simultaneously submitted elsewhere, and that, if accepted, it will not be published elsewhere in the same form. A special volume of Electronic Notes in Discrete Mathematics (ENDM) will be dedicated to accepted extended abstracts. The extended abstracts must comply with the ENDM LaTeX style and are limited to 6 pages, including the front matter, text, and references. Instructions for submission preparation may be obtained in the ENDM web page (http://www.elsevier.com/locate/endm). Once prepared, the paper should be submitted by means of the Easy Chair system (https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=lagos13).

Posters. Submissions of posters on all areas related to the symposium are also solicited. Posters must also be submitted for review in the form of an extended abstract formatted in the ENDM style (<u>http://www.elsevier.com/locate/endm</u>), and must not exceed 2 pages in length. Posters should also be submitted via the Easy Chair System (<u>https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=lagos13</u>). Accepted posters will NOT appear in the ENDM special volume, but they will appear in the symposium's booklet. Posters will be presented at the symposium in a separate session.

Following the tradition of LAGOS, a special issue of Discrete Applied Mathematics will be prepared after LAGOS'13. All authors of accepted papers at the symposium are invited to contribute to this special volume. The topics should relate to the central themes of the symposium, but are not necessarily restricted to the presentations at LAGOS'13. All articles will be referred according to the standards of Discrete Applied Mathematics.

-- Financial support

There will be a limited number of accommodation grants for students. Preference will be given to those students presenting a talk or a poster and, as a second criterion, to graduate students. Instructions to apply to this support, will be given on the web page later.

-- Scientific Committee

Gilberto Calvillo (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico) José Correa (Universidad de Chile, Chile) Jesús De Loera (chair) (University of California, Davis, USA) Guillermo Durán (UBA, Argentina; Universidad de Chile, Chile) Friedrich Eisenbrand (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland) Luerbio Faria (Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) David Fernández-Baca (Iowa State University, USA) Carlos Ferreira (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil) Komei Fukuda (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Switzerland) Sylvain Gravier (Université Joseph Fourier, France) Ilya Hicks (Rice University, USA) Hiroshi Imai (University of Tokyo, Japan) Marcos Kiwi (Universidad de Chile, Chile) Matthias Köppe (University of California, Davis, USA) Jesús de Loera (University of California, Davis, USA) Vadim Lozin (University of Warwick, UK) Martín Matamala (Universidad de Chile, Chile) Eduardo Moreno (Universidad Adolfo Ibañez, Chile) Graciela Nasini (Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina) Miguel Pizaña (chair) (Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Mexico) Fábio Protti (Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil) Iván Rapaport (Universidad de Chile, Chile) Sergio Rasjbaum (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico) Jorge Ramírez-Alfonsin (Université Montpellier 2, France) Celso C. Ribeiro (Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil) Gelasio Salazar (chair) (Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí, Mexico) Claudia Linhares-Sales (Universidade Federal do Ceará, Brazil) Alejandro Torrielo (University of Southern California, USA) Cid Carvalho de Souza (UNICAMP, Brazil) Mario Valencia-Pabon (Université Paris 13, France) Annegret Wagler (Université Blaise Pascal, France) Andrés Weintraub (Universidad de Chile, Chile) Mark Wilson (University of Auckland, New Zealand)